Traditional skills at work

A champagne of winemaker

A champagne of winemaker

The Champagne AOC (Protected Geographical Indication) has been protecting age-old skills since 1936. It guarantees the conception of an exceptional product: Champagne!

As "Récolant-Manipulant" winegrowers, we make it our priority to perpetuate the skills passed down from generation to generation, always remaining very respectful of the "champenoise" tradition. We personally carry out every production stage for our champagnes, from vine cultivation to sales, so as to absolutely guarantee quality champagne, representative of our terroir and passion.

Vine cultivation

Vine cultivation

Good champagne is born out of good grapes.

Isabelle and Sombath comply by the Champagne AOC criteria (Protected Designation of Origin).

In January, pruning begins with a period of manual and mechanical pre-pruning. The vines get cut back a little before the actual pruning takes place in mid-February. The actual pruning then follows the vegetative cycle of the various grape varieties: white then black.

Come March, binding is the next step in vineyard farming. The vines are then guided, bent and tied up, with precision and rapidity. Sombath is attentive to detail and along with a taste for technology, he shows immense determination in tending towards perfection.

Month after month, depending on the vine's growth, the couple of winegrowers perform the disbudding of the vines on a regular basis. A tedious albeit essential technique in their opinion, since it is the solution for selecting the only buds which will provide grapes for wine.

Finally comes Autum and the season of harvest. It is the result of our daily work in the vineyards, and it is always performed in the best possible atmosphere!

The harvest

Harvesting and pressing

Every member of the family is present for the harvest, yet helped by a team of seasonal grape pickers. We harvest entirely manually, as Champagne tradition has it. The objective here is to pick whole clusters and preserve them whole until they arrive in the press, with the effect of preventing the grape flesh from touching the skin, so that it preserves its white colour.

Champagne is produced with pulp only, so extracting the juices is always a gentle and progressive process. As the intact grapes get to the press, they are divided according to their variety and growth quality (cru), so they can each retain their very own analytic and organoleptic characteristics.

Wine-making

Wine-making

Immediately after pressing, the musts are identified and placed in the vats. The slow process of vinification begins, requiring patience and expertise.

  1. The first fermentation sees the transformation of grape juice into wine thanks to the natural yeasts and sugar present in the musts. Malolactic fermentation follows, helping future wines be less acidic and suppler. After the settling stage, the wines rest in the vats for two to three months, before being blended.

  2. Blending is a very important step for champagne wines. "Clear wines" are assembled according to their cru, grape variety and vintages, in order to create harmonious wines displaying the same characteristics year after year.

  3. When bottling, we add liqueur de tirage (sugar and yeasts) to the wine, to trigger a second stage of fermentation in the bottle, resulting in the 'sparkling' stage. Whereas the AOC regulations recommend ageing in cellars for a minimum of 15 months, we choose to give our wines longer to soften and develop all their aromas. Thus, our champagnes are aged for three years in cellars, and up to six years for the vintages.

  4. Still manually stirred on racks, the bottles are progressively tilted for the impurities to gather in the neck, ready to be evacuated during the disgorging process.

  5. Last stage while disgorging: the mixture called dosage is added to the wine, depending on the desired type of wine - brut, extra-brut, demi-sec, etc. The bottles are then corked with their final cork; they are washed and dressed before finding their place on your table.

By continuing your visit to our site, you consent to the installation and use of cookies on your computer in order to analyze traffic. I agree


Strict Standards: mktime(): You should be using the time() function instead in /home/champagnpa/www/hub.php on line 369

To be able to consult this site, you must be of the legal age governing the acquisition and consumption of alcohol in your country of residence. If no such law exists in your country, you must be over 18 years.

Un Savoir-faire traditionnel

Un Champagne de vigneron

Un Champagne de vigneron

Depuis 1936, l'Appellation d'Origine Contrôlée Champagne protège un savoir-faire vieux de plusieurs siècles et garantit l'élaboration d'un produit d'exception.

Vignerons "Récolant-Manipulant", nous avons à coeur de perpétuer le savoir-faire transmis de génération en génération dans le respect de la tradition champenoise. Nous réalisons toutes les étapes d'élaboration de nos champagnes, de la culture de la vigne à leur commercialisation, de façon à vous proposer des Champagnes de qualité, reflet de notre terroir et de notre passion.

Le travail de la vigne

Le travail de la vigne

C'est d'un bon raisin que naît un bon champagne.

Isabelle et Sombath pratiquent une viticulture conforme aux exigences de l'AOC Champagne.

En janvier, la taille débute par un pré-taillage manuel et mécanique. Les vignes sont émondées avant la taille jusqu’à la mi-février. Puis, la taille débute, selon le cycle végétatif des cépages : les blancs puis les noirs.

Le mois de mars arrive et le travail de la vigne se poursuit par le liage. La vigne est alors guidée, courbée, attachée avec précision et rapidité. Sombath a le souci du détail, il redouble de volonté et d'appuis technologiques qui lui permettent de tendre vers la perfection recherchée.

Au fil des mois, selon la pousse de chaque vigne, le couple de vignerons pratique l'ébourgeonnage. Une technique fastidieuse mais essentielle à leurs yeux car elle permet de ne laisser que les bourgeons qui seront de futurs raisins.

Vient l'automne et la saison de la vendange. C'est l'aboutissement du travail quotidien réalisé sur nos vignes, elle se passe toujours dans la bonne humeur !

La vendange

Vendange et pressurage

Toute la famille est sollicitée, aidée par une équipe de vendangeurs saisonniers. Réalisée entièrement manuellement dans le respect de la tradition champenoise, l'objectif est de cueillir les grappes de raisins entières et de les conserver intactes jusqu'au pressoir pour éviter que la pulpe entre en contact avec la peau du raisin et lui fasse perdre sa couleur blanche.

Le champagne est produit à partir de la seule pulpe du raisin. L'extraction des jus de raisins est toujours douce et progressive. Dès leur arrivée, les raisins entiers sont chargés dans le pressoir séparément, en fonction du cru et du cépage, de façon à conserver leurs caractéristiques analytiques et organoleptiques propres.

L'élaboration

L'élaboration

Immédiatement après le pressurage, les moûts sont identifiés et mis en cuve. Le lent travail d'élaboration commence, nécessitant patience et savoir-faire.

  1. Une première fermentation alcoolique permet la transformation du jus de raisin en vin grâce aux levures et au sucre naturellement présents dans les moûts. S'en suit une fermentation malolactique, qui donnera moins d'acidité et plus de souplesse aux futurs vins. Une fois clarifiés, les vins reposent 2 à 3 mois en cuve avant l'assemblage.

  2. L'assemblage est une étape importante pour le Champagne. Les "vins clairs" sont assemblés en fonction des crus, des cépages et des années de façon à créer des champagnes harmonieux aux caractéristiques que vous retrouverez année après année.

  3. Au moment de la mise en bouteille, une liqueur de tirage (sucre et levures) est ajoutée au vin pour provoquer une nouvelle fermentation en bouteille, et aboutir à la prise de mousse. Alors que l'AOC préconise quinze mois minimum de maturation en cave, nous avons fait le choix de laisser plus de temps à nos vins pour s'assouplir et développer tous leurs arômes. Ainsi, nos Champagnes sont conservés 3 ans en cave, et jusqu'à 6 ans pour nos millésimes.

  4. Encore remuées manuellement sur pupitre, les bouteilles sont inclinées progressivement de façon à rassembler les impuretés dans le goulot, qui seront éliminées au moment du dégorgement.

  5. Dernière étape au moment du dégorgement, une liqueur d'expédition est ajoutée en fonction du type de vin souhaité : brut ou demi-sec. Les bouteilles sont alors fermées par le bouchon en liège définitif, lavées et habillées avant de se retrouver sur vos tables.

En poursuivant votre navigation sur notre site, vous acceptez l'installation et l'utilisation de cookies sur votre poste afin de réaliser des mesures d'audience. J'accepte


Strict Standards: mktime(): You should be using the time() function instead in /home/champagnpa/www/hub.php on line 369

Pour accéder à notre site, vous certifiez être majeur(e) et avoir connaissance de la règlementation en vigueur dans votre pays relative à l'information sur les boissons alcoolisées diffusée sur Internet.